Schedule, ticket information for 2015 IFAF World Championship

Football WM 2011, 16.07.2011, Ernst Happel Stadion, Wien, USA vs. Kanada

The schedule for the seven-nation 2015 International Federation of American Football (IFAF) World Championship on July 9-18 at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio, includes four days of competition with three games each day.

Kickoffs are noon, 3:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. on July 9, 12, 15 and 18 to determine gold, silver and bronze medal winners.

As the two-time defending champions, the U.S. Men’s National Team has received the No. 1 seed and leads an “upper bracket” that includes No. 3 seed Japan and No. 4 seed Mexico. Canada, originally the No. 2 seed, withdrew from the event earlier this month. Teams that would have been scheduled to play Canada within the tournament format will receive byes. The “bottom bracket” includes No. 5 France, No. 6 Australia, No. 7 South Korea and No. 8 Brazil.

The first two days of competition includes teams playing within their brackets before the sides cross over to determine the medal round.

2015 IFAF World Championship schedule

All games at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio. All times ET.

Thursday, July 9

Game 1: Australia vs. South Korea, noon

Game 2: France vs. Brazil, 3:30 p.m.

Game 3: United States vs. Mexico, 7 p.m.

Bye: Japan

*- The Parade of Countries and Opening Ceremonies will be held prior to United States vs. Mexico.

Sunday, July 12

Game 4: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, noon

Game 5: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 3:30 p.m.

Game 6: Winner Game 3 vs. Japan, 7 p.m.

Bye: Loser Game 3

Wednesday, July 15

Game 7: Loser Game 5 vs. Winner Game 4, noon

Game 8: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 6, 3:30 p.m.

Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6, 7 p.m.

Bye: Loser Game 4

Saturday, July 18

7th place and bye: Loser Game 7

5th place: Loser Game 4 vs. Winner Game 7, noon

Bronze medal game: Loser Game 8 vs. Loser Game 9, 3:30 p.m.

Gold medal game: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 7 p.m.

*-Closing ceremonies and all-tournament team announced following gold medal game

Tickets are available at Single-day tickets – $10 for adults, $5 for students, seniors and military – include admission to all three games that day. All-event passes are $35. All seating is general admission.

The IFAF World Championship has been held every four years since 1999. The United States defeated Canada, 50-7, in Vienna, Austria, for the 2011 gold medal. The U.S. beat Japan, 23-20, in double overtime in Kawasaki, Japan, to win the 2007 tournament, the first that included the United States. Prior to the United States’ participation, Japan earned gold medals at the first two IFAF World Championships played in Palermo, Italy (1999), and Frankfurt, Germany (2003).


IFAF is composed of 71 member countries spanning six continents that possess national federations dedicated to American football. Among the world’s fastest-growing international federations of sport, IFAF has grown from 21 member nations in 2006.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) granted IFAF provisional recognition in December 2013. Provisional recognition is the initial step toward permanent IOC membership, which IFAF could attain as early as 2016. IFAF’s permanent IOC membership would make American football eligible for a future vote to become part of the Summer Olympics lineup.

  , , , , , ,